The Age of Innocence by Edith Wharton

The Age of Innocence (Everyman's Library Classics)The Age of Innocence by Edith Wharton

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

I found the Age of Innocence to be an incredibly beautiful book. It has been a long time since I’ve read anything so masterfully written. It is a book that resonated with me on many levels and won’t be forgotten very easily. The characters are wonderfully portrayed. It is a story of a romance that struggles against the norms and unwritten rules of the upper-class of NYC in the 1870’s. More fundamentally though the book is also about the constraining/bounded environments/communities/affiliations that we all operate within. How some of us strive to breakout or go against the grain of these realms and take the associated risks. It is a novel of breaking free and seeking something more meaningful and deeper. It has my highest recommendation!

View all my reviews

About Harry Hopkins III

I'm an explorer, dreamer and a teacher...my head and Heart are in the sky...my feet are on the ground...I'm an optimistic/open minded/forward looking/thinker...with a romantic old fashion style...
This entry was posted in Book Reviews and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

