The Book Thief by Markus Zusak

An incredibly wonderful/beautiful story of a young girl living and growing up in Nazi Germany that celebrates the Human Spirit. While the story is not the happiest at times, the author Mark Zusak works a very unique narrative that leaves you incredibly fulfilled and inspired. He uses the idea of books and words to play an important part in telling this amazing story. I especially enjoyed the unique ways the author presented it. For example, it was narrated by “Death”. You might think that would give the story a very dark feel, but the story was actually made more sensitive, and more human by this approach. Mark also used PowerPoint type call outs of background information within the narrative which helped shift modes and provided a smother flow. Another unique feature was when the author gave the reader a glimpse on what the future of some of the characters would be, before the story-line arrived at that point. This worked extremely well and I had never seen it done before. I think this is a five star book and it is now on my top ten list of books I’ve ever read. This book has my highest recommendation. (  )

About Harry Hopkins III

I'm an explorer, dreamer and a teacher...my head and Heart are in the sky...my feet are on the ground...I'm an optimistic/open minded/forward looking/thinker...with a romantic old fashion style...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The Book Thief by Markus Zusak

  1. This book has been on my “short list” for about a year. I have it on my eReader and have been looking forward to reading it.

    http://manoflabook.com/wp/?p=3412

  2. bmw0512 says:

    Been meaning to read this for a long time! Now the movie is out and I want to see it.. I will have to hurry and read this FIRST!

Leave a Reply

